Trusted Psychics UK Logo


0904 007 0663
Calls cost 45p/min + network access charge.
Home >>Blog >>Horoscopes >>What Are the Planetary Dignities?
Essential Dignities

Published 24/07/2022 by Joanne Jones

What Are the Planetary Dignities?

Everything You Need to Know About the Essential Dignities

Understanding the essential dignities and how they affect us is important in astrology. The dignity of a planet speaks to how a planet feels whenever it finds itself in a zodiac sign. Essential dignities describe how a planet feels when it finds itself in a particular star sign—it also refers to the strength/weakness of a planet. How a planet feels in a particular star sign will impact those who fall under it; if Venus is feeling miserable in Taurus, Taurus representatives may feel demotivated/uninspired. There are five essential dignities in total, two major and three minor. Two major dignities are widely used in modern astrology, but the three minor dignities have been lost to time (for the most part).

The 5 Essential Dignities

1. Domicile and Detriment/Exile (Major Dignity)

Domicile: Domicile is a planet's rulership over a zodiac sign. Every planet has a sign which it rule, this could also be regarded as its home. When a planetary body is within the sign it rules, it will wield more influence over the other planets—this is called domal dignity. Below is a list of planets and where they will be in domicile:

Sun: Leo

Moon: Cancer

Mercury: Gemini and Virgo

Venus: Libra and Taurus

Mars: Scorpio and Aries

Jupiter: Sagittarius and Pisces

Saturn: Capricorn and Aquarius

Uranus: Aquarius

Neptune: Pisces

Pluto: Scorpio

Detriment/Exile: When a planet is in detriment, it means the planet is in the sign over which it has the most negligible influence. Below is a list of planets and where they will be in detriment:

Sun: Aquarius

Moon: Capricorn

Mercury: Sagittarius and Pisces

Venus: Aries and Scorpio

Mars: Taurus and Libra

Jupiter: Gemini and Virgo

Saturn: Cancer and Leo

Uranus: Leo

Neptune: Virgo

Pluto: Taurus

2. Exaltation and Fall (Major Dignity)

Exaltation: Exaltation is a place of awareness for a celestial body. Below is a list of planets and where they will be exalted:

Sun: Aries

Moon: Taurus

Mercury: Virgo

Venus: Pisces

Mars: Capricorn

Jupiter: Cancer

Saturn: Libra

Uranus: Scorpio

Neptune: Leo

Pluto: Aries

Fall: The fall as a position of weakness/minimum influence for a planet. When a planet is in fall, it will be opposite the planet's zodiac sign of exaltation. Below is a list of planets and where they will be in fall:

Sun: Libra

Moon: Scorpio

Mercury: Pisces

Venus: Virgo

Mars: Cancer

Jupiter: Capricorn

Saturn: Aries

Uranus: Taurus

Neptune: Capricorn

Pluto: Leo

3. Triplicity Rulership (Minor Dignity)

Triplicity refers to a group of three signs that belong to the same element. Below is a list of the elements and the signs that belong to them.

Fire: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Earth: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn

Air: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius

Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces


Each triplicity has several rulers. The ruler at any given time is determined by the time of day. Below is a list of the elements and their time of ruling:

1. Fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius)

Day Ruler: Sun

Night Ruler: Jupiter

Participating Ruler: Saturn

2. Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn)

Day Ruler: Venus

Night Ruler: Moon

Participating Ruler: Mars

3. Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius)

Day Ruler: Saturn

Night Ruler: Mercury

Participating Ruler: Jupiter

4. Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)

Day Ruler: Venus

Night Ruler: Mars

Participating Ruler: Moon

In the early days of astrology, astrologers would divide someone's life into three periods—early, middle, and late.

Day Ruler: Early life

Night Ruler: Mid Life

Participating Ruler: Late Life

4. Terms/Bounds (Minor Dignity)

Terms/Bounds refer to a system that divides a zodiac sign into five unequal parts; the five parts are individually ruled by one of five planets (Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Venus, Mercury).

5. Decans/Faces (Minor Dignity)

The decan system originated in Ancient Egypt around the year 2100 BCE. This essential dignity splits a zodiac sign into three slices at 10 degrees each (creating 36 decans). Each portion represents approximately ten days. While this dignity is well-known among astrologers, it is regarded as the weakest. Below is a list of the zodiac signs and their decans:

Aries: Mars, Sun, Venus

Taurus: Mercury, Moon, Saturn

Gemini: Jupiter, Mars, Sun

Cancer: Venus, Mercury, Moon

Leo: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars

Virgo: Sun, Mercury, Mercury

Libra: Moon, Saturn, Jupiter

Scorpio: Mars, Sun, Mercury

Sagittarius: Mercury, Moon, Saturn

Capricorn: Jupiter, Mars, Sun

Aquarius: Venus, Mercury, Moon

Pisces: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars

Live Astrology Readings Online

The five essential dignities are an important part of astrology. Each dignity has its own unique meaning and can help you better understand yourself, your relationships, and the world around you. If you want to learn more about astrology, check out some of our articles. To uncover what your sign says about you, give us a call for a cheap psychic reading. Our talented psychics can help you unlock the mysteries of the stars and uncover the secrets hidden in your horoscope.

With an excellent working knowledge of planetary positions and their effects on us, our trusted astrologers will give you an in-depth reading over the phone or online. With the support of our gifted astrologers, you can unravel everything you have ever wanted to know about your current life. If you are not feeling energetic, content, or optimistic, the position of a planet could be disturbing your zodiac sign. If you want to know more, call our cheap UK psychic line and get the answers you seek.


Sect: A sect is an astrological concept in which seven planets (including the sun and moon) are assigned to two different categories—diurnal (daytime) and nocturnal (night-time).

How To Contact A Trusted Psychic

Phone a live Psychic 24 hours a day

View all our live phone psychic and tarot readers online.

View All Live readers

Message a live Psychic 24 hours a day:

View all our live messenger psychic and tarot readers online.

launch messenger

Text a live Psychic 24 hours a day:

View all our live text psychic and tarot readers online.

SMS psychic

Recent Articles From the Trusted Psychics Blog

Scorpio Friendship Compatibility

Scorpio Friendship Compatibility

Explore Scorpio's friendship secrets, best matches, and deep dives into compatibility with all Zodiac signs, including Scorpio with Scorpio.

Libra Friendship Compatibility

Libra Friendship Compatibility

Can you be best friends with a Libra? Explore Libra's friendship traits and friendship compatibility with all the Zodiac signs in this guide.

Leo Friendship Compatibility

Leo Friendship Compatibility

Explore Leo's friendship traits, best matches, and compatibility with all Zodiac signs in this guide to Leo friendship compatibility.

Cancer Friendship Compatibility

Cancer Friendship Compatibility

Who is Cancer's best friend? Who don't Cancer's get along with? Find out all of this and more in this Cancer friendship compatibility guide.

Pisces Ruling Planet

Pisces Ruling Planet

Is Pisces' ruling planet Neptune or Jupiter? Discover why Pisces has dual rulers and the influences of these planetary rulers.

Taurus Man and Gemini Woman Compatibility

Taurus Man and Gemini Woman Compatibility

Discover the intriguing compatibility of Taurus men and Gemini women. Explore their strengths and challenges in friendship, love, and work.